Tagovailoa added to preseason watchlist for Davey O’Brien Award

FORT WORTH, Texas— Maryland Redshirt Junior Quarterback Taulia Tagovailoa has been included in the Davey O’Brien Award Preseason Watch List, it was announced on Tuesday. The list includes 35 of the nation’s top returning college quarterbacks.

This year’s list was compiled by a subgroup of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee and selected based on career player performance and expectations for the 2022 college football season.

Tagovailoa, who was added to the Maxwell Award Watch List on Monday, set seven single-season program records during a prolific 2021 season. The Hawaiian native of Ewa Beach last season held single-season records in Maryland for passing yards (3,860), completions (328), completion percentage (69.2%), passing touchdowns (26) and 300-yard passing Games (7).

Presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate quarterback, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The 46th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner honoring the winner will be held on Monday, February 20, 2023 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

The official Davey O’Brien Midseason Watch List will be released Tuesday, October 18 and will include all active quarterbacks from the Preseason Watch List, all players who were named weekly Great 8 recipients during the first seven weeks of the season, and any additional quarterbacks approved by the selection committee.

The midseason watch list is then reduced to the 35-player Davey O’Brien QB class of 2022 on Tuesday, October 25. Fan voting on social media (Facebook, Instagram and Twitter) will again play a role in the semi-finalist. Finalist and winner vote totals when combined with National Selection Committee ballots. Voting begins October 25th.

See also  Football: Bergen County All-Star Game Returns With Unthinkable Ending (PHOTOS)

Sixteen semi-finalists selected from the QB class will be named on Tuesday 8th November. The Foundation will announce the three finalists two weeks later (Monday 21 November). The 2022 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be revealed live on ESPN on Thursday, December 8 during the Home Depot College Football Awards.

Watchlist for the 2022 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Brennan Armstrong, Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 212, Shelby, Ohio
Stetson Bennett, Georgia, Sr., 5-11, 190, Blackshear, Ga.
Gerry Bohanon, USF, Sr., 6-3, 221, Earle, Ark.
Logan Bonner, Utah, Sr., 6-1, 230, Rowlett, Texas
Chase Brice, Appalachian State, Sr., 6-3, 235, Grayson, Ga.
Sean Clifford, Penn State, Sr., 6-2, 212, Cincinnati, Ohio
Malik Cunningham, Louisville, Sr., 6-1, 190, Montgomery, Alabama.
Brett Gabbert, Miami (OH), Jr., 6-0, 209, St. Louis, MO.
Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma, Jr., 5-11, 204, Mililani, Hawaii
Jake Haener, Fresno State, Sr., 6-1, 210, Danville, California.
Jaren Hall, BYU, Jr., 6-1, 205, Spanish Fork, Utah
Frank Harris, UTSA, Sr., 6-0, 200, Schertz, Texas
Sam Hartman, Wake Forest, Jr., 6-1, 208, Charlotte, NC
Hendon Hooker, Tennessee, Sr., 6-4, 218, Greensboro, NC
KJ Jefferson, Arkansas, Jr., 6-3, 242, Sardis, Miss.
Devin Leary, NC State, Jr., 6-1, 215, Sicklerville, NJ
Will Levis, Kentucky, Sr., 6-3, 232, Madison, Conn.
Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina, Jr., 6-3, 210, Indian Trail, NC
Tanner McKee, Stanford, Jr., 6-6, 226, Corona, California.
Tanner Mordecai, SMU, Sr., 6-3, 218, Waco, Texas
Bo Nix, Oregon, Jr., 6-3, 214, Pinson, Ala.
Aidan O’Connell, Purdue, Sr., 6-3, 210, Long Grove, Illinois.
Spencer Rattler, South Carolina, Jr., 6-1, 210, Phoenix, Arizona.
Chris Reynolds, Charlotte, Sr., 5-11, 210, Mocksville, NC
Cameron Rising, Utah, Jr., 6-2, 220, Ventura, California,
Will Rogers, Mississippi State, Jr., 6-2, 210, Brandon, Miss.
Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State, Sr., 6-1, 210, Denton, Texas
CJ Stroud, Ohio State, Jr., 6-3, 215, Inland Empire, California.
Taulia TagovailoaMaryland, Jr., 5-11, 200, Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA, Sr., 6-1, 205, Las Vegas, Nev.
Payton Thorne, Michigan State, Jr., 6-2, 210, Naperville, Illinois.
Clayton Tune, Houston, Sr., 6-3, 215, Carrollton, Texas
Tyler Van Dyke, Miami, Sun., 6-4, 224, Glastonbury, Conn.
Caleb Williams, USC, Sun., 6-1, 215, Washington, DC
Bryce Young, Alabama, Jr., 6-0, 194, Pasadena, California.

See also  College Football Odds: Bettors Bet on Surprise Name to Win Heisman

After conference: SEC (7), ACC (5), Pac-12 (5), Big Ten (5), American (3), Big 12 (2), C-USA (2), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt ( 2), Central American (1), Independent (1).

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate quarterback, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while demonstrating teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both science and athletics. Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $1.2 million in grants and college scholarships to help high school and collegiate athletes transform their leadership on the field into a transform leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Leave a Comment