Onstage Ogden, Weber State Theater Announce New Seasonal Cast | News, Sports, Jobs

Photo provided, Sam Crump

The Utah Symphony at Weber State University in a past season presented by Onstage Ogden.

Satisfy your theater bugs this summer with a fantastic season that has something for everyone; OnStage Ogden and Weber State University have both announced their lineups for the 2022-2023 season.

“After the challenges of the past two years, we’re delighted to be back with a great line-up for 22-23,” said James Fredrick, the new managing director of Onstage Ogden.

With 27 performances this year, Onstage Ogden, Weber County’s largest performing arts center, kicks off its 2022-2023 season with a bang with “Patriotic Pops” at Snowbasin Resort over the Independence Day weekend beginning Thursday, June 30.

From classical to mariachi, ballet to hip hop and acrobats, from folk to opera – there is something for every taste.

The season features more performances in downtown Ogden than ever before, including the first presentation at the Ogden Amphitheater with “Jarabe Mexicano” on September 28th. The Portland Cello Project and Utah’s own Repertory Dance Theater will perform at Peery’s Egyptian Theatre, while an eclectic string quartet will perform The Brooklyn Rider and Celtic-crossover ensemble Kittel & Co. will perform at The Monarch.

Subscriptions for four or more shows are available now at OnstageOgden.org, in person at the Onstage Ogden box office at 638 26th St., or by phone at 801-339-9214. Packages start at $62. Individual tickets for most shows go on sale in August.

On stage Ogden’s 2022/2023 season:

  • “Patriotic Pops” with Utah Symphony, Thursday, June 30, Snowbasin Ski Resort
  • “The Goonies”, in concert with Utah Symphony, Thursday 22 September, Austad Auditorium
  • “Jarabe Mexicano”, Wednesday, September 28, Ogden Amphitheatre
  • “Portland Cello Project”, Friday 7 October, Peery’s Egyptian Theatre
  • “Kittel & Company”, Tuesday 11 October, The Monarch
  • “Fisk Jubilee Singers”, Saturday 5 November, Austad Auditorium
  • Stephen Hough performs “Rachmaninoff” with Utah Symphony, Thursday 10 Nov, Austad Auditorium
  • “The Nutcracker” with Ballet West, Friday 25th November and Saturday 26th November
  • “Here Comes Santa Claus”, with Utah Symphony, Monday 12 December Austad Auditorium
  • “The Swingles”, with the Chamber Ogden Orchestra, Wednesday 14 December, Austad Auditorium
  • “Repertory Dance Theatre”, Friday 13 January 2023, Peery’s Egyptian Theatre
  • “Mariachi Herencia de Mexico”, Saturday 14 January, Peery’s Egyptian Theatre
  • “Carmina Burana” with Utah Symphony, Thursday, January 26, Austad Auditorium
  • “Beijing Acrobats”, Thursday 2 February, Austad Auditorium
  • “Storm Large with the Utah Symphony”, Thursday 9 February, Austad Auditorium
  • “International Guitar Night”, Friday 10 February, Peery’s Egyptian Theatre
  • “Empire Wild”, Wednesday 22 February, The Monarch
  • “The Queen’s Caricaturists”, Wednesday 1 March, Peery’s Egyptian Theatre
  • “Dvořák Symphony No. 5,” with Utah Symphony, Thursday, March 2, Austad Auditorium
  • “Brooklyn Rider,” Tuesday, March 7, The Monarch
  • “FLY Dance Co: Breakin’ Classical with Utah Symphony”, Thursday, March 16, Austad Auditorium
  • “BYU International Folk Ensemble”, Saturday 25 March, Austad Auditorium
  • “Water Works,” with Utah Opera, Friday, April 7, The Monarch
  • “Rhapsody in Blue” with Utah Symphony, Thursday April 13, Austad Auditorium
  • “Sibelius’s Symphony No. 5”, with Utah Symphony, Thursday 20 April, Austad Auditorium
  • “Snow White”, with Ballet West II, Friday 5 May, Austad Auditorium
  • “Merz Trio”, Thursday, May 11, The Monarch
See also  Firehouse Center for the Arts recovers after pandemic

Weber State University’s Telitha E. Lindquist College of Arts and Humanities is also offering an exciting four-show season, including a world premiere musical inspired by Hans Christen Anderson.

“Season 22-23 explores the choices we make and how those choices change our paths,” said Andrew Barratt Lewis, assistant professor of theater. “These plays and musicals feature complex and nuanced characters striving to make the best of what life throws at them.”

This season is also the final show from costume designer Catherine Zublin, who is retiring after 37 years. Known for her stunning costumes and extensive knowledge of costume history, Zublin will design for the two musicals.

New for the 2022-2023 season, customers can purchase a Flex Pass with eight tickets to be used in any combination across the four shows of the season for just $100. Tickets, including the new Season Flex Pass, will be available beginning Monday, August 1 at weberstatetickets.com.

WSU season list:

  • “Eurydice”, by Sarah Ruhl, 7.-8. and 12.-15. October, Val A. Browning Center for the Performing Arts
  • “Sweeny Todd,” Oct. 11-12 and 16.-19. November, Allred Theatre, Val A. Browning Center for the Performing Arts
  • “Matchstick Girl: A new musical,” by Jennifer Kokai and Kenneth Plain, Sept. 24-25. February and 1st-4th March 2023, Allred Theatre, Val A. Browning Center for the Performing Arts
  • “Innovation Theatre”, 7th-8th and 13.-15. April, Eccles Theatre, Val A. Browning Center for the Performing Arts

Newsletter

Join thousands who already receive our daily newsletter.


Leave a Comment